2019 ACMDTT Awards

The annual ACMDTT Awards were presented on Saturday May 11, 2019, recognizing and celebrating excellence in their chosen profession.

This year, the awards committee, which is made up of regulated members from Calgary, Edmonton, and Medicine Hat, had the pleasure of meeting face-to-face online! It was a unique experience and it allowed the committee to evaluate and decide which nominees would be awarded.

If you know someone who deserves an award in 2020, please remember to nominate them when nominations open in the fall. Nominating a deserving person lifts up the entire organization that person works for or the causes and concerns they’ve supported.

The 2019 Award Winners are:

Technologist Awards

Student Scholastic Awards

Student Leadership Awards

Student Research Award

Tokens of Appreciation

Technologist Awards

Professional Excellence in Leadership Award – recognizes individuals who demonstrate leadership, provides guidance and mentorship to colleagues, leads by example demonstrating respect, integrity and professionalism, fosters a positive working environment and promotes an affective relationship within the health care environment. 2019 recipient – Jaylene Watson, MRT(R) (back to top)

Professional Excellence in Patient Care Award – recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence in direct patient care and outstanding abilities in delivery of diagnostic and therapeutic services. It recognizes those who foster a healthy culture of respect and integrity within healthcare, advocates for quality patient care, facilitates a safe working environment and inspires confidence and trust in patients. 2019 Recipient – Frieda Veld, MRT(R) (back to top)

Excellence in Professional Collaboration – recognizes the increasingly multidisciplinary nature of professional practice in healthcare. A professional team consisting of at least one full member in good standing with the ACMDTT is eligible for this award. The successful team will embody the concept of professional collaboration, either solely within the specialties of the College or with those of other professionals within the healthcare environment. This team will have contributed to a common goal related to professional practice either technically or with humanity which has had a positive impact on the profession. 2019 Recipients – Katie Kaminski, MRT(R), Christina Paterson, DMS, Michelle Benoit, MRT(R) (back to top)

Herbert M. Welch Memorial Award – presented to a member who has a proven record of dedicated service and has made a significant contribution to the outstanding growth of the profession. 2019 Reipent – Francoise Ternovoy, MRT(R) (back to top)

Joan Graham Award – recognizes individuals who impart shared learning in the form of continuing education and encourages the continuing competence of College members. 2019 recipient – Linda Wollenberg, MRT(R) (back to top)

George C. Hall was dedicated to the betterment of the profession. Illustrated by his service at the local, provincial and national levels, Mr. Hall led by example as to what a dedicated professional can do to make a difference and create an impact in his/her profession. This award is given to an individual who has influenced the growth of the profession in clinical practice, education, research and/or administration. 2019 recipient – Wendy Read, MRT(T) (back to top)

Student Scholastic Awards 

The Scholastic Awards honour the students who achieved the highest mark on each specialty’s CAMRT certification exam during the preceding year.

Dr. Marshall Mallett Scholastic Award in Radiological TechnologyJulie Berube, MRT(R) (back to top)

Scholastic Award for Nuclear Medicine TechnologyMichelle Luong, MRT(NM) (back to top)

Scholastic Award for Magnetic Resonance TechnologyJeremy Armstrong, MRT(MR) and Brenna Haycock, MRT(MR) (back to top)

Scholastic Award for Radiation Therapy – Malcolm Laraque, MRT(T) (back to top)

Scholastic Award for Electroneurophysiology – Dalia Chehayeb, ENP (back to top)

Student Leadership Awards

The Student Leadership Awards honour senior students in each specialty who demonstrate leadership, academic achievement, professionalism and involvement with the College.

Student Leadership Award for Radiological TechnologyErin O’Brien (back to top)

Student Leadership Award for Nuclear Medicine Technology – Cameron Grant (back to top)

Student Leadership Award for Radiation Therapy – Teryn Nelson (back to top)

Student Leadership Award for Magnetic Resonance Technology – Terra Hovde (back to top)

Student Research Award 

Students research posters were displayed at the CONNECT 2019 conference, reflecting their research initiative. Attendees had the opportunity to vote for the poster they felt best reflected the research initiative.

  • 2019 Student Research Award – “Natural Alternatives as Oral Contrast Agents for MRI” – Angela Nowlan, Eric Grehan, Lauren Smith, Sara Armani, Serena Morrill, Claire Roper (back to top)

Other Recognition

Tokens of Appreciation recognize members for their outstanding contributions to the College and are completing their terms of office. (back to top)

  • Kelly Sampson, MRT(T) – Council President
  • Jennifer DiNucci, MRT(MR) – Council Member
  • Wendy Read, MRT(T) – Nominating Committee Chair